You Like Potato

2 Jun

Another recipe for bread from How to Cook a Wolf--this time it’s called “Hot Loaf” and appears on page 98 of the 1942 edition.

Hot Loaf

1 pint milk

1 boiled potato

1 1/2 Tablespoons lard (I used veg. shortening)

1 Tablespoon sugar

1 cake yeast (= to 2 1/4 teaspoons dry yeast)

1 teaspoon salt

Flour (I ended up using almost 6 cups)

Mash the potato until light.

Mashed Potato

Do the Mashed Potato

Dissolve yeast in lukewarm potato water (I used 1/2 cup). Bring milk to a boil, add mashed potato, lard (shortening), sugar, and salt. When potato mixture is lukewarm, add the yeast. Stir in flour until dough is workable. Knead well (working in more flour). Dough will be soft. Let rise–Fisher says let it rise overnight but my yeast was way too active for that–until double.

Rising Bread

After the rise, knead again for 2-3 minutes on a floured board. Let rise for two hours in greased pans. Bake “in a moderate oven until a fine golden crust is formed.” I chose to bake my two loaves of bread at 400 degrees for about 35 minutes. Oh, and I lightly greased the tops of the loaves before the 2nd rise and bake. Worked perfectly for me. This bread is good…even better than the other Fisher recipe I tried. It’s excellent as buttered toast and sandwich bread. I’d like to try it for french toast as well.

Hot Loaf

Ready for Toast!

One Response to “You Like Potato”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I Like Potahto « Sage Without Hemlock - June 4, 2010

    […] another food facts post brought on by my last recipe attempt which featured the potato. According to Michael Pollan in his excellent The Botany of Desire, the […]

Leave a comment